30 Rock Cheesecake

A very dear friend of mine is turning 30 today.  A golden age. The perfect age really, if you asked me. Yes, I freaked out when I turned 30 but I know better now. He’s not freaked out though. Not at all. Calm as still water. He says so anyway.

30 Rock Cheesecake

But it really is the perfect age. You’re sensible enough now to laugh at the stupid things you’ve done the last three decades but still young enough to do more (less) stupid things. Remember when you went to class straight from a party? Now you can go to work straight from a party. Okay, that was lame. But you know what I mean.  

To my dear friend, Happy 30th! Did you know you’re as old as the McNuggets? Since I haven’t mastered the art of teleportation, I can’t give you your birthday present just yet. So please be content with this cheesecake that I made just for you. I’ll eat it for you too. It’ll probably go straight to my ass and I’ll get fat and no one will want me anymore. Man! The things I do for you. Happy Birthday Sweets!!


cheesecake2

Why is it called 30 Rock Cheesecake you ask? This is where you gape in awe (or with sheer amusement) at my line of thought.  30th Birthday → 30 → 30 Rock → New york → New York Cheesecake → Tada!! Also this cake rocks! This title is so awesome on so many levels (I really need to get more sleep).

The recipe is for a 9 inch cake but I scaled it down to make a smaller cake. It’s just me at home this week and I really don’t want to have to eat 900 grams of cream cheese all by myself.

cheesecake3

30 Rock Cheesecake

Adapted from Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

For Batter:
  • 900 g cream cheese
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 1 vanilla pod
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup crème fraîche
  • 3 Tbsp flour
For Crust:
  • 15 digestive biscuits, crushed
  • 2 Tbs butter, melted
INSTRUCTIONS
  • Preheat oven to 175 degrees C. Grease a 9 inch springform pan.
  • In a medium bowl, mix digestive biscuit crumbs with melted butter. Press onto bottom of springform pan.
  • Cut the vanilla pod in half lengthwise. With the back of a knife, scrape out the seeds.
  • In a large bowl, mix cream cheese, vanilla and sugar until smooth. Blend in milk, and then mix in the eggs one at a time, mixing just enough to incorporate.
  •  Add crème fraîche and flour. Mix until smooth.
  • Pour filling into prepared crust.
  • Place pan on a rack in the preheated oven and place a tray of boiling water right underneath. Bake for 1 hour. Turn the oven off and let cake cool in closed oven for 5 – 6 hours.
  • Chill in refrigerator until serving (at least 4 hours). Run a knife around the edge of the pan to loosen cake before refrigerating to prevent cracking.
2 thoughts on “30 Rock Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

