Baked Fish and Chips

In which I seethe – Baked Fish and Chips

I have one advice for you, my dear friends (anyone who would take time to read my blog is my friend. )

DO NOT DO THE DISHES WHEN YOU’RE ANGRY!!

So I got really really really mad at someone tonight, no prizes for guessing who, and I stupidly decided to do the dishes (something I hate doing even in a good mood) instead of leaving it till the morning like I usually do.  Eew! I know. But I have a super early day tomorrow and I really didn’t want to have to deal with the kitchen in the morning. Whoever said that doing the dishes is therapeutic, is a complete looney bin. Yes, doing the dishes allows you to think and I can see how that is therapeutic for some people. But do that while you’re angry and you’d be seething five minute in. You’d start thinking about the incident and then your mind would start riling. It’ll start to wander to the other annoying traits of the one who shan’t be named. Then you’ll be reminded of that thing they did two weeks ago that pissed you off but how you graciously let it go without a fuss and how you really should make yourself more heard and what you should say to them to make yourself more heard. There I was, in the kitchen, standing elbow deep in dirty dishes and having arguments in my head.  Detailed arguments with comebacks and all. But as angry as I am with them, I am angrier at myself for never following through with my imaginary arguments. I just can’t bring myself to fight. I ALWAYS end up crying. So guys, if your girlfriend or wife cries every time you fight, it is not the secret weapon you think we have. We are truly upset.

So to re-cap, don’t do the dishes when you’re angry. Go watch your favourite series, read a book, read 9GAG, watch vines, write a blog post, anything that will distract you. Just don’t do the dishes! There! I feel much better now.

Baked Fish and Chips

Upset or not, I still have a dish for you. I know I promised you more Korean dishes in my last post but I’m mad and I’m still writing, so I’m excused. Besides, I ran out of ingredients for a Korean dish and this dish involves minimum clean up, which is just appropriate for this post.

I never used to like to bread meat or fish because it just gets so messy. I also don’t deep fry anything in my house because, again, it just gets so messy. And by messy I mean greasy. Also, what do you do with all that oil and guilt afterwards?? With this recipe I found a different way to bread meat and fish, one that doesn’t leave me with a mess or crusty fingers. I also get to eat fish and chips without the guilt.

Baked Fish and Chips

Baked Fish and Chips

Serves 2-3, depending on how big a glutton you are.

INGREDIENTS

For the fish

  • 4 firm white fish fillets, approx. 500g / 1 lb
  • 2 – 3 Tbsp light mayonnaise (regular mayonnaise or Crème fraîche works well too)
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 2 tsp cajun seasoning
  • 2 Tbsp cooking oil

For the chips

  • 1 kg / 2 lb potatoes, washed and cut into wedges.
  • 2 Tbsp cooking oil
  • 1 tsp cajun seasoning
  • ½ tsp paprika powder
  • ½ tsp dried rosemary, crushed
DIRECTIONS
  • Preheat oven to 210°C, fan-assisted.
  • In a large freezer bag, or heavy-duty plastic bag,  combine oil, seasoning, paprika powder and rosemary.
  • Add potato wedges and shake to coat them well. I like to massage the oil and seasoning into the potatoes
  • Line a baking tray with parchment paper and arrange the wedges on the tray in a single layer.
  • Bake on top rack for 15 mins.
  • Now for the fish. Cut the fish into strips, about the size of two fingers.
  • Place the fish and mayonnaise in another bag and “massage” to mix well. If you like, you can season the fish at this point with spices, minced garlic, lemon zest, whatever your heart fancies. Set aside.
  • Line a second baking tray with parchment paper and brush a layer of oil on the paper.
  • In a third bag, combine the breadcrumbs and cajun seasoning. Add the fish strips to the breadcrumbs one strip at a time. Shake the bag to toss the fish strip in the breadcrumbs to coat. Arrange the breaded fish strips on the baking tray. Repeat until all the fish strips are breaded and laid on the tray. Drizzle remaining oil over the fish.
  • Take the wedges out of the oven and place fish on the TOP rack. Turn the wedges and return to oven on the BOTTOM rack. Bake for another 15 mins and don’t forget to turn the fish at 8 mins.
  • While you wait, throw out all the plastic bags and clean up is pretty much done. You’re welcome.
  • Serve with whatever sauce you like. I like sweet chilli sauce.

Baked Fish and Chips

6 thoughts on “In which I seethe – Baked Fish and Chips

Leave a Reply

