Ginger & Pork

Quick fix – Ginger stir-fried Pork

Do you have a recipe that you turn to whenever you’ve run out of ideas for dinner? Or when you just can’t summon the energy required to think? I’ve got one. It’s just bonus that it’s comfort food too.

As a child I wasn’t a fan of this dish, mainly because I wasn’t a fan of ginger. I would pick through the dish to find every last morsel of pork and leave behind a plateful of ginger in my wake. I think ginger is a grown-up ingredient. Along with coriander and eggplants. No one ever likes them as kids but now that we’re all grown up, we can’t get enough of them.  That being said, you can get my son to do just about anything if you had a jar of candied ginger. He absolutely loves it. Yeah, we’re baffled too.

My version of this dish is quite different from my Grandma’s version. My husband always jokes that I make Pork with ginger while my grandma makes Ginger with pork. The amount of ginger she uses is easily three times what I use. It’s still really really good. The empty plates can attest to that. I just prefer to let the pork hog the limelight. No pun intended. My version is also drier and its flavour more intense.

Ginger & Pork

Ginger stir-fried pork

Serves 2

INGREDIENTS
  • 300g  sliced pork
  • 100g ginger, finely julienned
  • 2 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tsp oyster sauce
  • 2 tsp dark soy
  • pinch of sugar

Marinade:

  • 1 tsp light soy
  • 1 tsp rice wine
  • ½ tsp sesame oil
  • ¼ tsp sugar
  • dash of pepper
DIRECTIONS
  • In a bowl, combine the pork with the marinade and set aside for  15 – 30 mins.
  • Heat sesame oil in a wok over high heat and add ginger. Stir fry the ginger until they start to turn golden brown. It looks like a lot of oil but the ginger will absorb a lot of it.
  • Push the ginger to one side of the wok (or remove and set aside) and add the pork. Stir fry until pork is no longer pink and then mix in the ginger.
  • Add oyster sauce, dark soy and sugar. Stir to combine until pork is thoroughly coated with the sauce. Add a tablespoon of water if it gets too dry.
  • Dish up and serve with steamed white rice.
7 thoughts on “Quick fix – Ginger stir-fried Pork

Leave a Reply

