kimchi stew

Keeping my promise – Kimchi Jigae (Kimchi Stew)

I make a lot of promises and when I make a promise, I never break it. Well, almost never. Unless you’re my kid. Then I break them like I break glasses. Which is all the time. Bad Mummy!

I promised like ten posts ago that I was going to post more Korean dishes. Ten posts later, here it is. It’s nothing fancy nor complicated. It’s really just another way of using kimchi.

kimchi stew

Now that the holidays are over and we’ve put on a pound or two, light meals are a welcome change. But light meals don’t have to be bland or boring (unlike this post). Which is why I love Kimchi Jigae. It’s bursting with flavour and umami and most days, I have all the ingredients I need to make it. Plus, it only takes about 5 minutes to make it.  This is a throw-in-whatever-and-however-much-you-like dish so the recipe is really more like a guideline. I used pork slices this time but you can use any meat you like. I think shrimps would probably work really well here too and in fact, I think I would make this with shrimps next time. I’ve seen people add even Spam and hotdogs in this but that kinda borders on wrong to me.

I served this the first day with steamed rice but threw in noodles (cooked separately) when I heated up the leftovers. Delicious either way.

Kimchi Jigae

Kimchi Jigae

Ingredients
  • 1 cup sliced kimchi with juice
  • ¼ of a medium onion, sliced
  • 100g pork slices
  • 1 block tofu, cubed
  • 3-4 cups water
  • Gochujang (hot pepper paste), sugar and salt to taste
  • sesame oil
Directions
  • Heat 2 tablespoon of oil in a pot on medium heat. Add onion slices and sauté till translucent and fragrant.
  • Add pork and fry for a couple of minutes until it’s no longer pink.
  • Add Kimchi and mix well.
  • Add tofu and just enough water to cover everything else, bring it to a boil and stir gently. We want the tofu intact.
  • Season accordingly with pepper paste, sugar and salt if desired/needed. I usually only need a pinch of sugar. Simmer for 10 – 15 minutes.
  • Drizzle over sesame oil before serving with rice.
  • Alternatively, if you’re feeling particularly lazy, skip the frying bit and just throw everything in the pot and bring to a boil.
6 thoughts on “Keeping my promise – Kimchi Jigae (Kimchi Stew)

  1. I’ve never had tofu in kimchi jigae before. Where do you normally get tofus from? I’ve seen big migros sell it, but my local one rarely stocks them 😦

    Like

    1. It’s my favourite part of the dish 🙂 I personally can’t stand the “fresh” tofu they sell in Migros and Coop. I use Mori – nu silken tofu that comes in Tetra pack. You can find them in most asian grocers, Coop megastores and Coop’s online shopping service. Let me know how you like it with tofu if you do try it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

