In my absence

In case you haven’t noticed, I haven’t posted anything in three weeks. The first week, the kids and I got sick. The second week, I was gearing up for the Lunar New Year and had a whole list of dishes planned. But the third week. The last week. That made everything else irrelevant.

On the first day of the Lunar New Year, my grandmother passed away. I had wanted to go back for her funeral and to pay my respects but circumstances simply did not allow it. So I’m doing the only other thing I can think of. I’m going to cook her favourite dish, or at least try to, and write a special post in her memory. But that’s going to take some time and I really don’t want to post anything else before that. I hope you don’t abandon me in my absence.

On that note, a blogger friend (I hope she doesn’t mind me calling her a friend) seems to have been reading my mind. Her last posts were of dishes that I’ve been meaning to write about. Almond jelly, potstickers, egg tarts and white cut chicken……now I’m afraid I’m going to look like I’m copying her.  Plus her photography skills are mad. So, in the unlikely event that you get bored waiting for my next post, check out Bonnie’s site. And even if you do have a ton of other things to do, check it anyway.

Until the next post, take care and don’t forget to tell your loved ones that you love them. Happy New Year!

7 thoughts on “In my absence

  1. Dear Friend,
    I’m so sorry to hear that your grandma died. I think it’s great that you thought of a way to celebrate her life through food. It will be such a special way of remembering her…I am very much looking forward to reading about her favorite dish in the near future.

    Thanks so much for the super kind mention. I expect I’ll be thinking later…”wow, I should have thought of that!” All the best and thanks for reminding us to take good care of the people we love most…it can’t never be emphasized enough. =)

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words Bonnie. I’ve never made this dish before so I expect quite a bit of trials and errors before I get it right or at least have something worth writing about. And really, it’s getting spooky how we’re thinking about the same dishes, only you’re actually writing about them.

      Like

      1. It’ll be cool to see what comes of it! You’ll have so many interesting tidbits to write about–nothing generic, which is always good. 😉 And that is kind of spooky! My brain has been on Cantonese food overload, so I’m glad to hear I’m not the only person with those sort of tendencies! Feel better soon girl!

        Like

  2. I only ‘met you’ today, but your post touched me. My condolences! And it is a beautiful thing you are doing in honour of your grandmother.

    Like

Leave a Reply

