Like dominoes we fell – Eggless chocolate cake

We were hit by the super-bug from hell this last week. ย It all started when the girl came home Friday before last, looking like she had just downed a half bottle of Tequila. Her face was flushed, her eyes were sleepy and she was disoriented. Three days later, my husband had that same look. Soon after, I FELT that look. Of course, it’s not over till the youngest sends this bug on its way with a grand finale. The last days, I saw my son transform into a koala bear and attached himself to my hip. My shoulder was his pillow and my sweater his handkerchief. Did I mention that this all took place over both kids’ birthdays? Yeah…..Double happiness…..

Today also happens to be my dear dear brother’s birthday! So this post is for you too Sweetie!!

Brother dearest, I love you with all my heart. And on your 26th birthday, I wish you health, wealth and all the happiness in the world! Happy Birthday!! Muacks!!



Eggless Chocolate Cake
I totally messed up the flowers on the side

I did manage to bake them a cake to share before I got too sick. What kind of mother would I be otherwise? You all know by now that my son’s allergic to eggs. I suspect it’s really just egg whites but I had no interest finding that out for sure this particular week. I scoured the internet and found, rather quickly, this recipe. Everything I knew, or thought I knew, about baking was promptly thrown out the window. I have always baked with eggs and have come to believe that you need eggs as a binding agent in a cake. So, even as I was mixing the batter for this cake (which was ridiculously easy!!), I had serious doubts if it would work. I mean, it can’t be THIS simple to bake without eggs. It just can’t. But it was! And it came out a treat! The cake was fluffy, moist, chocolatey and not overly sweet. I frosted the cake with a vanilla-orange buttercream which I tinted blue and while it did look pretty amazing, it didn’t taste as amazing. Well, actually the taste was pretty good, just its texture was seven shades of wrong. If ever I had a cooking nemesis, it would be frosting. I cannot get the damn thing right. So while I’m happy to share the recipe for the cake, I shall spare you the gritty mass I called frosting. You’re better off without it.

Speaking of being better off, I would like to take a moment to touch on a pretty sensitive topic. If you are anti-LGBT, you might want to stop reading now. Today, after a couple of exchanges, I unfriended someone on Facebook because of his anti-LGBT stance. Too dramatic? Perhaps. But to me, his words were pompous and ignorant. And how he truly believed that he was fighting for family values deeply offended me. How anyone, in this day and age, can still be prejudice against LGBTs is beyond me. Put simply, it is discriminating against people because of who they choose to love. Does that even make sense? Not to me, not in the least, so I’m better off without someone like that in my life. I guess, this is a tiny shout out to all the LGBTs out there trying their damndest to live and love openly and freely. I will do a rainbow cake/cookie/something for you one day (I promise!) but for now, it’s just a banner change. As the Koreans would say, “Hwaiting!!”

Eggless Chocolate Cake
Light and moist

Eggless Chocolate Cake

Adapted from BBC Good Food

Ingredients
  • 85g butter, plus extra for greasing
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 300g AP flour
  • 100g sugar
  • 30g cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
Directions
  1. Heat oven to 160C and grease two 20 cm/8 inch round cake tins
  2. In a heatproof jug, combine butter, honey and vanilla with 300ml of boiling water. Stir to mix well.
  3. Sift the flour, sugar, cocoa baking powder and baking soda into a large bowl, then add in the butter mixture. Stir until you have a smooth batter, then scrape into prepared tins. Bake for 40-45 mins until the cake is well risen and springy to touch. Cool in tin for around 15 mins before turning out to cool on a wire rack.
  4. When cake is entirely cool, frost as desired.
Checkered Shortbread
Bonus Cookie: I baked these for the girl to take to kindergarten to share with her friends. Keeping with the colour and flavour theme by pure chance.
5 thoughts on “Like dominoes we fell – Eggless chocolate cake

    1. Thank you for being so kind! We’re all just left with a stubborn cough now. The baby is back to his usual self and the girl is no longer drunk ๐Ÿ˜„ Thank you for stopping by and be sure to come back again!

      Like

  1. Looks so good, I must try! And the cookies look perrrrfect! =)
    Vegan/Eggless baking is a revelation…I actually think that they taste better than many of the regular versions.
    And I think it’s cool to “unfriend” people on FB for expressing their thoughts in a pompous or obnoxious way. It’s fine to disagree but it has to be done with some sensitivity and respect. Can’t wait to see some of your rainbow-inspired creations!

    Like

    1. Haha! Ever so kind Bonnie ๐Ÿ˜„ The cookies were surprisingly easy to make.
      I agree that people will have different opinions and while I cannot change their opinions, I can choose to distance myself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

