Munich, baby!! – German getaway

It was our 11th wedding anniversary last weekend, so we decided to dump leave the kids with my in-laws and go somewhere nice by ourselves. Munich was high on our list because, well, because they’ve got lots of beer…..Haha! We aren’t planning on going to Oktoberfest anytime soon though. Or ever for that matter. I don’t think we can handle it.

While in Munich, I came to several conclusions. Observations, if you will.

  • All Koreans have really pretty handwriting.

“Jae-hee was here” I didn’t actually see that written on a wall but I imagine that’s what it said in Korean, because I can’t read Korean. Every graffiti I came across written in Korean was written so prettily it’s mesmerising. I should have taken a picture. I could just stand there all day, staring at a wall. But I got hungry.

  • Germans can cook as well as they can play soccer

If the Germans and the French were to have a cook-off, the Germans will win 7-1 (Sorry Brazil, couldn’t help it 🙂 ). I’m not talking about the sausages. In fact, I didn’t have a single sausage dish my entire stay ( I did steal some bites of Weisswurst off the hubby’s plate though). The first day I was there, I was blown away by a pork roast served with caramelised onions. Typical German Hausfrau cuisine but done so so so so well (kicking myself for not having taken a picture of it). I  continued to be blown away for the remaining 4 days.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ok, so I didn’t eat ONLY German food, I’m still lumping them together as German.

  • Bicyclists are bullies!!!

In Munich anyway. In the five days that I was there, I was almost ran over twice and clipped once. The bicycle lane is not on the street itself, like it is in most cities. It’s elevated like the sidewalk is and many times, it’s just a a portion of the sidewalk that they’ve allocated by painting a line on it.  So if you’re standing on a corner  of a crossing, waiting to cross the road, you need to watch that you’re on the sidewalk for pedestrians and not the bicycle lane because these maniacs will not stop. They’ll zoom right by you, missing you by inches. If you’re crossing their lane and a two-wheeler is coming faster than you expect it to, they won’t stop or slow down. No….. They’ll get really annoyed at you but just keep on going while calling out at you. That got me thinking about how the bicyclists in other cities complain about how car drivers do not watch out for them, slow down for them or how the car drivers drive on the designated bike lanes…. Erm….sound familiar?? Moral of the story: The more wheels you give a person, the more entitled they will behave. It’s not just how they behave towards pedestrians either. I witnessed many bicyclists riding out onto a street without looking for oncoming traffic or worse, riding out despite oncoming traffic because they think they can beat it. Let me tell you a little something about how mass and matter works; a tram will always win!! I’m sure there are responsible bicyclists out there. There are, however, too many who should have their bikes taken away from them.

I haven’t posted any recipes for a while. I am aware of that. I promise I’ll have something for you next time.

P.S. In case you’re wondering, I am still without a car, but I do have back with me a working dishwasher, kitchen sink and MP3 player! July did get better, yay!!

 

 

The sloooowwweeessstt train ride EVER!!
14 thoughts on “Munich, baby!! – German getaway

  1. How nice to go to Munich for the weekend! Korean graffiti and all.
    If we took a five hour train ride here in Southern Australia, we’d still be in Southern Australia.
    You have it so good in Europe!!

    Like

    1. Geography is not my strong point but I’m sure Southern Australia has its charms that we can only be envious of here in Europe. Back home in Singapore, if we took a five hour train ride, we’d have crossed the country from end to end five times. Haha!!

      Like

  2. congratulations on your anniversary sister!! ❤ i'm so glad they didn't hurt you or i'll find them and punch them in the face.

    Like

  3. Nice write up & Happy anniversary!

    Not only is the cooking very good in Germany, the hospitality is also excellent.

    While I wouldn’t agree that they’d beat the French at cooking 🙂 , I know they’d thrash the Swiss 100-0 at both cooking and hospitality!

    I thoroughly enjoy my work trips to Munich.

    Like

  4. KFC, haha. Lovely indeed. I have a great recipe for KFC, but instead of deep fried, I bake them in the oven. They come out really delicious!

    Like

  5. Here’s the recipe 🙂 !

    Oven Fried Chicken

    4 Chicken drumsticks, skinned
    4 Chicken thighs, skinned
    5dl Buttermilk
    1 tsp Garlic powder
    1 tsp Mustard
    1 tsp Salt

    Crust
    1 cup White flour
    1 cup Corn meal (for polenta)
    2 tsps Salt
    1 tsp Oregano, dried
    1 tsp Chilli powder
    1 tsp Sage
    1 tsp Basil
    1 tsp Marjoram
    1 tsp Black Pepper, ground
    1 tsp Paprika powder
    1 tsp Onion powder
    1 tsp Garlic powder
    2 tbsps Parmigiano, finely grated or ground
    ½ tsp MSG (omit if you do not use it)

    – Add garlic powder, mustard & salt to the buttermilk and stir well.
    – Soak the chicken in the buttermilk mixture overnight.
    – Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
    – Add all coating ingredients to a bowl and mix thoroughly with your hands.
    – Remove chicken from buttermilk and toss in the seasoned flour.
    – Dredge the chicken well and press hard to ensure that it forms an all over crust.
    – For a thicker coating, return chicken to the buttermilk and coat in seasoned flour again.
    – Place chicken on an oiled baking tray, drizzle a little vegetable oil over the chicken.
    – Bake for 25 mins – 30 mins.
    – Turn the chicken pieces over.
    – Continue baking for another 25-30 minutes until the chicken is cooked.

    p.s. If you are using chicken breasts, they will take around 30-40 mins in total.

    Obviously you don’t need to add all the different herbs & spices, feel free to use what you have and what you like. I find garlic powder, onion powder, oregano & paprika extremely important.

    The buttermilk is also important as it keeps the chicken moist and juicy. The combination of flour & cornmeal is imperative to developing crunchy crust.

    All in all, it’s an extremely simple recipe and relatively stress free. I’m sure one you’ve tried it, you’ll wonder why you never attempted it before!

    I can’t wait to put an Asian spin on it :). Or perhaps you might beat me to it 🙂

    Ronnie

    Like

Leave a Reply

