I have a problem – Steamed Vegetarian Dumplings

I’ll be damned if I don’t get four posts up in February. I’m getting lazy. I mean, I’ve always been lazy but this is a whole new level of lazy. My procrastination problem is starting to be an actual real problem.  This last week, I’ve done absolutely nothing, if not the bare minimum. The house is…….I can’t even find the words. But I just can’t find it in me to get off my ass and do the things I need to do, including blog posts. I don’t know what it is. Maybe it’s the weather. Maybe it’s being homesick. Maybe it’s because the chicken crossed the road. I don’t know.

Steamed vegetarian dumplings

The Swiss like to chalk up unexplainable behavioural and mood changes to a new moon or full moon. And what do you know? There’s a new moon tomorrow. Which also means it’s vegetarian day for me.  What better time to post this recipe for vegetarian steamed dumplings? The first time I made this, I was very pleasantly surprised at how delicious it was. I’ve always, always had dumplings with some sort of meat so I thought this might be a little lacking in taste. Boy, was I wrong and how glad I am for that. The natural sweetness of the vegetables combined with the earthiness of the tofu was to die for. I think I might actually like this more than dumplings with meat. For reference,  I use Morinaga Firm Tofu. I find it to be just the right consistency. If you like a more intense flavour, you can also fry-steam these babies like you would with potstickers. You could also boil them but I so much prefer the chewy texture of the skin when steamed.

Steamed vegetarian dumplings

Steamed Vegetarian Dumplings

Makes 24 dumplings

INGREDIENTS
  • Dumpling wrappers
  • 4 Napa cabbage leaves
  • 1 medium carrot
  • ½ block of silken firm tofu (approx. 200g)
  • 1 Tbsp vegetarian oyster sauce*
  • 1 tsp sesame oil*
  • 1 tsp light soy sauce*
  • pinch of white pepper*
  • pinch of sugar*
  • ¼ tsp grated garlic*

*measurements given is an estimation. I always just eyeball it.

For the dipping sauce:

  • 1 tsp black vinegar
  • 2 tsp soy sauce
  • ½ tsp sesame oil
  • pinch of sugar
DIRECTION
  • Very finely slice the cabbage leaves and julienne the carrot. You can also grate the carrots if you prefer. Place cabbage and carrots in a medium bowl and add 1 tsp salt. Toss to mix well and set aside for 10 minutes.
  • Rinse the cabbage and carrot to wash off excess salt then squeeze out as much liquid as you can.
  • In a large bowl, combine the cabbage, carrot and all remaining ingredients (except the wrappers obviously). Mix it up well.
  • Wrap a teaspoonful of filling in each wrapper, pinching the sides to seal the dumpling. Repeat until all the filling is wrapped.
  • Cut a square of parchment paper to fit your steamer tray or bamboo steamer. Cut tiny slits all over the paper and line your tray.
  • Place dumplings on the tray, making sure you leave enough space between them so they don’t stick together while steaming. Steam over high heat for 10 minutes.
  • Combine all ingredients for dipping sauce and drizzle over dumplings to serve.
  • Enjoy!

20 thoughts on “I have a problem – Steamed Vegetarian Dumplings

    1. Thanks Bonnie! Actually, it’s every new moon and full moon. I do it for religious reasons, though I must admit I don’t always remember when the new and full moons are coming up 😛

      Like

    1. There are sooooo many variations of fillings out there. That’s the beauty of the dumpling, don’t you think? You can pretty much put in anything your heart fancies. I did consider cracking in an egg to help bind everything together but I was going to feed this to my son, who is allergic to eggs, so I chose to leave it out. The filling held up very well even without the egg though. Sorry I never replied your last mail. I’ve been meaning to but it keeps slipping my mind. I need to eat more fish…..

      Like

    1. Awwww thank you!! I did think of taking pictures of the wrapping process but I was alone at the time and didn’t have a third hand to hold the camera (now that’s a mental image). YouTube has lots of videos demonstrating how to fold the pleats. I’ve learned a lot from youtube 😀 I’ll try to have my husband photograph the process next time.

      Like

  1. Oh you are so sweet and i read it your couple of blog post and specially your grand maa looking cute and styling women Steamed Vegetarian Dumplings Thanks on your marvelous posting with Delicious Picture of this recipe.Have a nice afternoon!

    Like

  2. I understand procrastination…and that’s an excruciatingly bad habit when you’re a food blogger.

    I love the fact that you stay in Switzerland. I want to move there someday. And have my moods change to the lunar calendar. And eat dumplings. And be friends with you.

    Like

    1. Wow! That is so sweet, what you said. And poetic too. If you lived in Switzerland and we were friends, we’d be eating a lot more stuff than just dumplings 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a comment